# MINUTES OF APRIL 17, 2010 ARIZONA STATE UNIVERSITY RETIREES ASSOCIATION ANNUAL MEETING

#### I. PRESIDENT'S REPORT AND WELCOME TO GUESTS

President Mary Stevens welcomed members and guests. Approximately, 55 people were in attendance. She reviewed the year's goals and outcomes. Among those that she mentioned are: an ASURA sponsored international trip to China in May; upgrades to the organization's computer equipment; the cleaning and reorganization the storeroom and files; the preparation and subsequent frequent updates of a more detailed financial report that tracks income, expenditures and projected expenses, various social and travel events, and continued ASURA representation to various organizations that impact ASURA members, such as ADOA, ASRS and the State Legislature.

#### REMARKS FROM SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENT

Elizabeth Anne Clark, the ASURA scholarship recipient, was introduced by Sue Blumer, the chair of the Scholarship Committee. Ms. Clark thanked members of ASURA for supporting her studies. She explained that she had been a professional ballet dancer who was sidelined by injuries. She is now a student in the Barrett Honors College with a double major in Psychology and Sociology. Her thesis is on the sexual slavery of children and the organization Street Light. She plans to pursue a MA and Ph.D. in counseling and hopes to focus her work on children who are sexually exploited

#### II. INVITATION TO VOLUNTEER

Jay Spradling, Assistant Chief of the ASU Police Department, spoke to members about volunteer opportunities with campus police. He explained that there are a wide variety of areas where volunteers are needed. He talked about his desire to establish A Victim Advocacy Program that would help bridge the gap between off-campus and on-campus resources. He encouraged interested members to contact him or Doris, the volunteer coordinator, if anyone would be interested in learning more.

### III. VIDEO HISTORY CLIPS

Six video clips were shown from some of the ASURA Video History Project. The clips were from interviews of: Bobby Winkles, Lattie Coor, George Morrell, Dean Smith, Bob Ellis and Frank Kush.

## IV. KEYNOTE ADDRESS

Lattie Coor, former ASU President, and current CEO of the Center for the Future of Arizona gave the keynote address. Dr. Coor distributed a report entitled *The Arizona We Want* that the Center prepared based on the findings of a Gallup Poll commissioned by the Center. The poll of 3600 Arizona residents was conducted between mid-November 08 through the end of January 09. The report will be taken into the November election by the following efforts: in June there will be 5 town meetings of 50 – 100 people at which 5 to 7 goals will be discussed and questions developed to pose to candidates; candidates will be invited to a session to be broadcast to answer the questions that have been developed, and the candidates will be brought together in a live interview to discuss these topics.

#### V. APPRECIATION OF ALAN JOHNSON

On behalf of all of ASURA, Mary Stevens expressed appreciation for the work Alan Johnson has done as a member of the Legislative Liaison Committee for many years. Alan has decided to step down from this role at the end of this academic year.

#### VI. RECOGNITION

President Stevens recognized the ASURA past presidents who were in attendance: Dennis Kigin, Bob Beeman, Dean Smith, Val Peterson, Doug Johnson, Hal White and Dave Scheatzle.

She also recognized the office volunteers for their significant work in the ASURA Office.

The 2009-2010 Board Members, Committee Chairs and Officers were recognized.

#### VII. SPECIAL CONTRIBUTIONS

President Stevens recognized the special contributions made by Joan Leard for her Adopt-a Family work, Joyce Hartman Diaz for her work on the Endowment Agreement, Val Peterson for the ASURA Retirees Day, Carolyn Minner for her work on the budget reports, which include expenses and income, as well as work on the mailings and flyers, Connie McNeill for computerizing many of the ASURA processes and files, Dick Murra and Alan Johnson for their advocacy work with ASRS and ADOA.

### VIII. INTRODUCTION OF 2010-2011 NEW AND APPOINTED BOARD MEMBERS.

Board Members were asked to stand as their names were announced.

#### IX. INTRODUCTION OF OFFICERS FOR 2010-2011

New officers will be: Connie McNeill, President, David Schwalm, Vice President, Jo Madonna, Secretary, Joyce Hartman Diaz, Treasurer, and Immediate Past President, Mary Stevens.

#### X. PASSING OF GAVEL

Outgoing President Mary Stevens formally passed the gavel to incoming President Connie McNeill

## XI. ADJOURNMENT OF ANNUAL MEETING