## MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING Arizona State University Retirees Association April 30, 2011, 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

- A. Welcome Connie McNeill
  After a period of refreshments and social conversation, Connie McNeill opened the meeting at 1:20pm.
- B. Remarks from Scholarship Recipient Anthony Desimoto, Jr. Scholarship Committee Chair Sue Blumer introduced the recipient of the 2010-2011 ASURA Scholarship Anthony Desimoto, Jr. Anthony thanked ASURA and told us that the scholarship made it possible for him to be a full-time student this year. He is a Fine Arts Studio Major studying new media and intra-media art. He is originally from Yuma, Arizona. He told us about his family, his art work, his faculty mentor and plans to go to graduate school to continue his studies in digital media. He said that he won another scholarship for the next school year.
- C. Thanks from Adopt-a-Family Recipients Joan Leard
  Joan Leard is the ASURA member who runs the ASURA Adopt-a-Family
  Project. She said that the project has been in existence since the 1996-97
  academic year. Joan explained that ASURA currently gives her a budget of
  \$2000 per year and with that money she is able to assist two families. One family
  is picked by a social worker from the Tempe School System and the second
  family is an ASU student's family. Joan provides gifts to the family several times
  a year based on the needs of the family. Joan read from several pieces of
  correspondence that she received over the years from family members who
  expressed gratitude for the goods that they received. Joan also made a story board
  collage of the letters received. This will be displayed in the ASURA office.
- D. Living Video History Clips Linda Van Scoy
  Linda told us about the history of the project. It was started 10 years ago by
  suggestion of ASURA member Matt Betz. June Payne was the first committee
  chair. Linda thanked the committee members whose work makes these interviews
  possible. She thanked Dave Scheatzle for resurrecting the golf tournament
  because the proceeds from that event financially support the project. Then a
  number of interesting interview clips were shown to the audience.
- E. Recognition Connie McNeill Connie McNeill recognized and thanked past presidents, office volunteers, Board members, Committee Chairs and the 2010-11 officers.
- F. Introduction of New Board Members Connie McNeill Connie announced and introduced the new Board members. Barry Bruns, Barbara Bradford Eschbach, Barry Leshowitz, Sheila Stokes

## G. Introduction of Officers for 2011-2012, passing of gavel

Connie McNeill welcomed Dave Schwalm as the incoming president. Dave than announced and introduced the rest of the new Executive Board:

Sheila Stokes - Vice President
Barry Leshowitz - Secretary
Bill Moor - Treasurer
Immediate Past President – Connie McNeill

## H. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 2:45pm.